Biographical entry Churchill, Winston Leonard Spencer (1874 - 1965)


30 November 1874
Blenheim Palace, Oxfordshire, England
24 January 1965
London, England
Politician, Prime Minister (Great Britain), Writer and Writer of Inscription


Winston Leonard Spencer Churchill was a British politician, writer and prime minister of Great Britain. Churchill was elected to the House of Commons for the Conservative Party 1900. He joined the Liberal Party 1904 and served in the governments of Herbert Asquith and Lloyd George as president of the Board of Trade (1908-10) and Home Secretary (1910-11). As First Lord of the Admiralty (1911-17) he helped plan the Gallipoli campaign. Churchill lost his seat in 1922. In 1924 he was re-elected to parliament representing the Conservative Party and served as the Chancellor of the Exchequer (1924-29) in Stanley Baldwin's government. He resigned from the Conservative shadow cabinet in 1931 over the party's support of self-government for India. Neville Chamberlain reappointed Churchill to the Admiralty (1939) at the outbreak of World War II. Churchill served as prime minister of Great Britain from 1940 to 1945 and 1951 to 1955. A prolific writer of historical and biographical works, Churchill was awarded the Nobel Prize for literature in 1953.


Addison, Paul. 'Churchill, Sir Winston Leonard Spencer (1874-1965).' In Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, edited by H.C.G. Matthew and Brian Harrison. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004. Online edition, edited by Lawrence Goldman, 2011. Accessed 2 October 2012.

Related Entries

Was a Member of these Organisations

Related Interests